Skip To Main Content

School News

Seven National Merit Semifinalists from Potomac Named

Seven Upper School seniors from The Potomac School have been selected as semifinalists for 2023 National Merit Scholarships. They are Katharine Kanner-Bitetti, Abigail Park, Daniel Overdeck, Audrey Rentzepis, Kate Tuttle, Paul Witkop, and Max Zeldes.

These students were all among the top scorers in Virginia on the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which is used for initial screening. The highest-scoring students in each state are selected as semifinalists, with each state’s representation proportional to its percentage of the national total of graduating seniors, officials said in a news release.

More than 1.3 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools took the PSAT. The semifinalists, scholarship officials said, represent less than 1% of the nation’s high school seniors. Semifinalists can continue in the competition for approximately 7,140 National Merit Scholarships, worth nearly $28 million in total, that will be awarded next spring.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) is a non-profit organization established in 1955 to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The scholarships are underwritten by NMSC’s own funds and by around 320 business organizations and higher education institutions that share the corporation’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence. 

Pictured (l to r) Katharine Kanner-Bitetti, Kate Tuttle, Audrey Rentzepis, Abigail Park, Paul Witkop, Daniel Overdeck, and Max Zeldes

Search Stories

Recent news

Two Potomac Students Earn National Merit Scholarships

Seniors Audrey Rentzepis and Max Zeldes were among the winners in the 69th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Both have been awarded a $2,500 National Merit Scholarship supported by National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s own funds.

Potomac Celebrates Music in Our Schools Month

As part of Music in Our Schools Month®, students in Potomac’s Upper School recently organized a concert titled “Celebrating Composers of Color,” which was conducted by guest conductor Dr. Steven Cunningham of Hampton University and resident musician and composer Greg Holloway.

AI Assembly Tackles Hot Topics

On Tuesday, the newly formed Upper School AI student committee hosted an assembly focused on the potential benefits and challenges of generative artificial intelligence. Students moderated a panel of three leaders in AI – U.S. Congressman Don Beyer, Professor Brian Hall, and Dr. Sarah Murphy Gray (Google) – who spoke to this technology's influence in politics, sports, defense, business, social media, and beyond. All three described themselves as "AI optimists," with a real sense of how AI could transform the world positively, but they guided students not to lose touch with the humanities as we learn these tools. Student moderators Kasim K. '25, India C. '25, and Arav B. '24 demonstrated real leadership in facilitating a discussion with the panelists and soliciting questions from the audience. This assembly was first and foremost student-generated, and it was exciting to watch their work over several months pay off. View photos from the discussion.

SERC Student Earns Top Honors in Regeneron Science Competition

Imagine a world where all amputees have access to affordable, life-changing prosthetics. That's the future that senior and SERC student Arav Bhargava is working towards; tackling complex problems with ingenuity and compassion. His low-cost, 3D-printed prosthetics aren't just devices; they are tickets to a world of possibility. This isn't a science project; it's a revolution in accessibility.