Admission Events - Fall 2020

The events below offered an in-depth look into The Potomac School and its programs. 

Coffee and Conversations with Division Heads

Coffee and Conversations are a chance to meet our division heads and other members of the faculty. They will speak on topics unique to their division.

Lower School Virtual Coffee and Conversation Webinar (Grades K-3) 

  • Wednesday, October 21, 10:30 -11:30 am - Curriculum Basics
  • Wednesday, November 18, 10:30 -11:30 am - Social Emotional Learning
  • Wednesday, December 9, 10:30 -11:30 am - A Day in the life of a Lower Schooler 

Middle School Virtual Coffee and Conversation Webinar (Grades 4-6)

  • Thursday, October 15, 9:30 -10:30 am - Academics
  • Thursday, November 19, 9:30 -10:30 am - Student Life
  • Thursday, December 17, 9:30 -10:30 am - Transition and Traditions 

Intermediate School Virtual Coffee and Conversation Webinar (Grades 7-8)

  • Wednesday, October 14, 9:30 -10:30 am - Student Life
  • Wednesday, November 18, 9:30 -10:30 am - Academics
  • Wednesday, December 16, 9:30 -10:30 am  - Transition and Traditions

Upper School Virtual Coffee and Conversation Webinar (Grades 9-11)

  • Friday, October 23, 9:00 -10:00 am - Student Life
  • Wednesday, November 11, 9:00 -10:00 am - Academics
  • Wednesday, December 9, 9:00 -10:00 am - Transition and Traditions

Potomac Parent Experience

The Potomac Parent Experience webinars are an opportunity to hear from current Potomac parents who will answer questions and provide their insight as a parent at Potomac. 

Lower School Potomac Parent Experience Webinar (Grades K-3)

  • Thursday, December 3, 7:00 - 8:00 pm 

Middle School Potomac Parent Experience Webinar (Grades 4-6)

  • Monday, December 7, 7:00 - 8:00 pm 

Intermediate School Potomac Parent Experience Webinar (Grades 7-8)

  • Thursday, December 10, 7:00 - 8:00 pm 

Upper School Potomac Parent Experience Webinar (Grades 9-11)

  • Monday, December 14, 7:00 - 8:00 pm

Completed Events Fall 2020

Counting the Costs: An Introduction to Private & Independent School Financial Aid for Families - Webinar *

  • Thursday, October 15, 8:00 - 9:00 pm

*This event is offered by School and Student Services (SSS), the organization The Potomac School uses to process our financial aid applications.

Virtual Fairs

Potomac will participate in the following virtual fairs.

A Better Chance (ABC) Virtual Fair: 
Wednesday, September 30, 6:30 - 7:00 pm

Black Student Fund/Latino Student Fund (BSF/LSF) Virtual Fair: 
Sunday, October 11, 2:00 - 5:00 pm

Alumni Information Sessions

Please contact Director of Alumni Relations, Laura Miller, lmiller@potomacschool.org, for further details.

  • Tuesday, October 20, 7:00 - 8:00 pm (grades K-6)
  • Thursday, October 22, 7:00 - 8:00 pm (grades 7-11)

The College Counseling Process at Potomac – Webinar (all grades)

Meet Director of College Counseling Heather Deardorff and her team to learn more about Potomac’s approach and philosophy behind the college counseling process. 

  • Thursday, November 5, 7:00 - 8:00 pm

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Justice at Potomac – Webinar (all grades)

Join us to hear about DEIJ curriculum and initiatives at Potomac. Moderated by Tamisha Williams, Director of Equity and Community Initiatives, and David Grant, Director of Student Diversity, Recruitment and Retention.

  • Wednesday, November 11, 7:00 - 8:00 pm

Financial Aid Information – Webinar (all grades)

Have questions or want to learn more about financial aid at Potomac? Join Claire Berg, Associate Director of Financial Aid Services, and Carson Roy, Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid, who will guide you through the process.

  • Wednesday, October 21, 7:00 - 8:00 pm
  • Wednesday, December 2, 7:00 - 8:00 pm

Athletics Open House – Zoom meeting (Grades K-12)

Learn about Potomac’s athletics program and philosophy and meet coaches and student athletes.

  • Tuesday, December 8, 7:00 - 8:00 pm