The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing broad policy goals that align the operation of the school with its mission, providing fiduciary oversight of the school’s operations, and supporting long-range strategic planning to ensure Potomac’s future.

The Board is comprised of between 17 and 26 members. It strives to reflect diversity consistent with the stated mission of the School. Its members include alumni, current parents, past parents, grandparents and individuals from the broader community who bring particular expertise and perspective.

Members may serve two three-year terms. Requests for trustee nominations to fill Board vacancies are made each fall to the parent, faculty, and alumni communities. The Committee on Trustees then selects its candidates based on a set of specific criteria and presents a slate to the full Board for election in the spring.

Committees of the Board of Trustees currently include the Executive, Finance, Investment, Audit, Development, Master Plan/Buildings and Grounds, and Committee on Trustees. In any given year task forces may be created to address other strategic issues. Officers of the Board are nominated by the Chair of the Board and are elected by the full Board each year.


Executive Committee
Chair Marjorie Brennan
Vice-Chair John Delaney
Secretary Mary Lou Leipheimer
Treasurer Sameer Bhargava
Member-at-Large David Dupree
Member-at-Large Lynne O'Brien
Head of School John Kowalik
Chair Ron Peele
Members Patty Coleman
  Michael Davis
  Bill Kilberg
Committee on Trustees
Chair Mary Lou Leipheimer
Members Marjorie Brennan
  Patty Coleman
  John Delaney
  Grace Guggenheim
  Mark Lowham
  Rob McDowell
  Linda Turner
Chair Jim Fleming
Members Natalie Bush
  Patty Coleman
  Dax Cummings
  Stephanie Kapsis
  Mary Lou Leipheimer
  Steve Pann
  Ron Peele
Chair Sameer Bhargava
Members Marjorie Brennan
  Natalie Bush
  Alan Dabbiere
  David Dupree
  Jim Fleming
  Linda Turner
Chair David Dupree
Members Michael Davis
  John Delaney
  Jamie Sullivan
Master Plan/Buildings and Grounds
Chair Mark Lowham
Members Torie Clarke
  Dax Cummings
  Grace Guggenheim
  Bill Kilberg
  Robby Moser
  Lynne O'Brien
Board Liaison to PA Patty Coleman
Board Liaison to AGC
Stephanie Kapsis
Board Liaison to FAPS Ron Peele


Trustee Bios

To learn more about our trustees, please click here.  

Board Officers 2016-17
Marjorie P. Brennan, Chair
Sameer Bhargava, Vice-Chair
Mary L. Leipheimer, Secretary
Sameer Bhargava, Treasurer
David W. Dupree, At Large
Lynne F. O'Brien, At Large
James B. Fleming, At Large
John J. Kowalik, Head of School
Trustees 2016-17
Sameer Bhargava
Marjorie P. Brennan
Natalie F. Bush
Dax Cummings
Alan J. Dabbiere
Michael L. Davis
David W. Dupree
Daniel I. Fisher
James B. Fleming
Grace Guggenheim '74
Stephanie Amann Kapsis '01
William J. Kilberg
John J. Kowalik
Mary L. Leipheimer
Mark C. Lowham
Robert M. McDowell '78
Robert D. Moser
Lynne F. O'Brien
Steven J. Pann
Ronald H. Peele, Jr.
Thomas J. Rietano
Susan N. Schieffer
Karen Sonneborn
Abigail Spangler
Mark J. Sullivan '96