An Independent K-12 school on a beautiful wooded campus, 3 miles from Washington, D.C.

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing broad policy goals that align the operation of the school with its mission, providing fiduciary oversight of the school’s operations, and supporting long-range strategic planning to ensure Potomac’s future.

The board is comprised of between 17 and 26 members. It strives to reflect diversity consistent with the stated mission of the school. Its members include alumni, current parents, past parents, grandparents, and individuals from the broader community who bring particular expertise and perspective.

Members may serve two three-year terms. Requests for trustee nominations to fill board vacancies are made each fall to the parent, faculty, and alumni communities. The Committee on Trustees then selects its candidates based on a set of specific criteria and presents a slate to the full board for election in the spring.

Committees of the Board of Trustees currently include the Executive, Finance, Investment, Audit, Development, Master Plan/Buildings and Grounds, and Committee on Trustees. In any given year task forces may be created to address other strategic issues. Officers of the board are nominated by the Chair of the Board and are elected by the full board each year.


Executive Committee
Chair Marjorie Brennan
Vice-Chair Sameer Bhargava
Secretary Mary Lou Leipheimer
Treasurer Sameer Bhargava
Member-at-Large David Dupree
Member-at-Large Lynne O'Brien
Member-at-Large James Fleming
Head of School John Kowalik
Chair Ron Peele
Members Dan Fisher

Bill Kilberg
Committee on Trustees
Chair Mary Lou Leipheimer
Members Marjorie Brennan
Grace Guggenheim

Mark Lowham
Rob McDowell

Lynne O'Brien
Chair Jim Fleming
Members Natalie Bush

Dax Cummings

Stephanie Kapsis
Mary Lou Leipheimer
Steve Pann

Susan Schieffer
Karen Sonneborn
Abby Spangler
Chair Sameer Bhargava
Members Marjorie Brennan
Natalie Bush
Alan Dabbiere

Michael Davis

David Dupree

Tom Rietano

Karen Sonneborn
Chair David Dupree
Members Michael Davis

Dan Fisher
Jamie Sullivan
Master Plan/Buildings and Grounds
Chair Robby Moser
MembersDax Cummings

Dan Fisher
Grace Guggenheim
Bill Kilberg

Mark Lowham

Ron Peele

Susan Schieffer
Board Liaison to PA Karen Sonneborn
Board Liaison to AGC
Stephanie Kapsis
Board Liaison to FAPS Ron Peele


To learn more about our trustees, please click here.

Board Officers 2016-17
Marjorie P. Brennan, Chair
Sameer Bhargava, Vice-Chair
Mary L. Leipheimer, Secretary
Sameer Bhargava, Treasurer
David W. Dupree, At Large
Lynne F. O'Brien, At Large
James B. Fleming, At Large
John J. Kowalik, Head of School
Trustees 2016-17
Sameer Bhargava
Marjorie P. Brennan
Natalie F. Bush
Dax Cummings
Alan J. Dabbiere
Michael L. Davis
David W. Dupree
Daniel I. Fisher
James B. Fleming
Grace Guggenheim '74
Stephanie Amann Kapsis '01
William J. Kilberg
John J. Kowalik
Mary L. Leipheimer
Mark C. Lowham
Robert M. McDowell '78
Robert D. Moser
Lynne F. O'Brien
Steven J. Pann
Ronald H. Peele, Jr.
Thomas J. Rietano
Susan N. Schieffer
Karen Sonneborn
Abigail Spangler
Mark J. Sullivan '96